Sunday is the day of the Big Game, and many people will be celebrating, and this is where alcohol comes into the equation. Transportation officials say that on the day of the game, many people are arrested for drunken driving, while tragically, others die in drinking-related crashes.
Even if you’re partying at home, be a responsible host. There are options available including: designating a driver, ride sharing, and cabs. Together, New Mexico can ENDWI.
Aggravated DWI occurs when a driver has a .16 BAC or above, refuses to take a breath or blood test, or is involved in a crash that caused bodily injury while driving while under the influence.
If an individual receives their first offense of DWI, they can receive:
- an ignistion interlock license for 1 year and an ignition interlock in every vehicle driven
- up to 90 days in jail
- up to a $500 fine
- up to 1 year on probation
- mandatory penalties such as community service, DWI school, victim impact panel, substance abuse screening
For more information on New Mexico’s DWI laws, visit ENDWI‘s website.